Gary Hieber and T-J Zacharias Collect First Ever Wins At Shangri-La II

lm_15_jb_4805Finally, after four consecutive rained out programs, Shangri-La II Motorspeedway in Tioga Center, NY ran their first program in 2011. First time winners were the flavor of the day as Gary Hieber from Langhorne, Pa collected his first ever win in the Speed STR's while T-J Zacharias became the latest member of the legendary New York state racing family to become a winner in the Sportsman Modifieds.

The day started out the same Saturday ended – rain falling on the half mile "Concrete Castle". By eleven AM the rains stopped, the track began drying and hot laps began close to noon. Before the race program began, the fans and competitors were asked to keep track Public Relations Director / co-announcer Al Robinson in their prayers as the popular race veteran battles through the effects of a stroke he suffered on May 11th. Look below for an address where cards can be sent.

lm_37_jl_4955The ASA Latemodels are the headline division at the track, and saw Joseph Burns and 2009 track champion, Jim Lamoreaux collect the heat wins. During the re-draw, Lamoreaux drew the pole position for the feature. Lamoreaux brought out a brand new car that he and the crew built from the ground up. He is sporting the Impala body this season, moving away from the Camaro body he ran last season. Lamoreaux led all 30 laps in the two flag race. A serious challenge came from 2010 track champion, Travis Fisher. Fisher started third, and closed to within two carlengths until his power plant expired just past the halfway point. Jerry Dineen, driving in his back-up car after a hot lap incident, recovered from his sixth place start to finish second. Joe Brown started fourth in a car he purchased from Lamoreaux during the off season and finished third following a tough battle with Joseph Burns and Josh Lloyd. Burns finished fourth and Lloyd completed the top five. Lloyd drove the Dineen back-up on three occasions last season at Shangri-La II. The car he drove on Sunday was his own car, which was apart in pieces in his garage last year.

ss_8_ls_4852The first feature of the season was the Street Stocks. Defending Track Champion, Lee Sharpsteen drew the pole for the feature. His car was strong, but so were the rides of Gil Sharpsteen and Cricket Clonch. With six laps to go, Gil Sharpsteen became a serious threat to his brother, Lee. Lee held off Gil by a car length to take the first step in defending his track title. Gil Sharpsteen finished second and Clonch faded to third. Clonch and Lee Sharpsteen late in the first heat, but both were able to continue the day. Billy Coyle was able to rebound from his troubles. Coyle dropped the drive shaft out of his ride in turn three on the first lap of the first heat. Coyle rebounded to finish sixth. Matt Visingard returned to racing after an eight year hiatus running the number 61 Richie Evans tribute car for Brian Nalepa. Glenn Lippolis ran strong, with an apparent top five finish after returning to his long time number, 85 but was disqualified during post-race inspection for illegal shock placement.

The Sportsman Modifieds saw 2010 track champion, Jimmy Zacharias draw the pole for the 20 lap feature. His brother, T-J started to his outside. The brothers took the green flag from chief starter, Gary Folk, Jr side by side. Jimmy beat T-J to turn one. T-J took the lead away with a good inside pass coming off turn four on the third lap and led the remainder of the race. Jimmy Zacharias caught T-J with six laps to go, but John Wilbur (driving a former Jimmy Zacharias car) came into the picture. T-J was able to move away to a comfortable six car length cushion at the checkers. Jimmy held off Wilbur by a car length for second. Wilbur was third while 2010 track Rookie of the Year, Bryan Sherwood finished fourth and Tom Shiner completed the top five.

tsp_56_gh_4890The Tobias Speed STR's returned for their third ever visit to the half mile high banks. There had not been a repeat winner, and that fact rang true as Gary Hieber collected his first ever win in the Speed STR class. Hieber's best finish at Shangri-La II prior to Sunday was a fifth place finish in August, 2009. Hieber ran strong, fending off multiple challenges from Paul Lotier. Kyle Hieber challenged Lotier at the half way point allowing Gary to pull away. At the checkers, Kyle Hieber finished second and Lotier was third.

Cards and well wishes for Al Robinson can be sent to:
Al Robinson
Elderwood Nursing Facility Room 110
37 N. Chemung Street
Waverly, N.Y. 14892


ASA Late Model
30 Laps

Sportsmen Modifieds
20 Laps

Joseph Burns, Jim Lamoreaux

Jimmy Zacharias

Feature: Feature:
1. 37 Jim Lamoreaux

2. 13 Jerry Dineen

3. 15 Joe Brown

4. 53 Joseph Burns

5. 84 Josh Lloyd

6. 21 Joe Berretta

7. 26 Joe Schneider

8. 8 Travis Fisher

9. 52 Brad Smales

DNS: 29 Dave Schneider
1. 17 T-J Zacharias

2. 71 Jimmy Zacharias

3. 4 John Wilbur

4. 95 Bryan Sherwood

5. 35 Tom Shiner

6. 77 Paul Johnson

7. 9X Matt Clemens

DNS: 40 Jake Rought

Speed STR's
12 laps
Street Stocks
25 laps

Gary Hieber

Lee Sharpsteen, Gil Sharpsteen

1. 56 Gary Hieber

2. 6 Kyle Hieber

3. 4 Paul Lotier

4. 5 Rich Tobias, Jr.

5. 15 Brittany Wixon

6. 14 Scott Monroe

1. 8 Lee Sharpsteen

2. 6 7/8 Gil Sharpsteen

3. 32 Cricket Clonch

4. 5 Charlie Lohmeyer

5. 27 Dylan Terry

6. 94 Billy Coyle

7. 34 Charlie Sharpsteen

8. 61 Matt Visingard

9. 26 Brad Knapp

DQ: 85 Glenn Lippolis