Joe Brown Dominates in First Career ASA Late Model Win

great_american_classic_2011Double features and dominating performances highlighted the activities at Shangri-La II Motorspeedway on Saturday night. The largest crowd of the season at the ASA member track in Tioga Center, NY saw fireworks both on and off the track and enjoyed a pig roast in the pits following the races, all sponsored by The Redneck Barbequers.

The night started off with the resumption of the ASA Latemodel race from June 25th which was postponed by rain. Jerry Dineen took the green flag on the lap 11 restart from first place. Travis Fisher restarted in second, and challenged for the lead. While the top two began pulling away from the field, Jim Lamoreaux was quickly making his way through the field. By lap 17, Lamoreaux wrestled the lead away from Dineen. Fisher then took second away from Dineen one lap later. Joseph Burns worked his way into third with a pass of Dineen on lap 21. The checkers flew with Lamoreaux crossing the line ahead of Fisher. Following his victory lane ceremony, Lamoreaux went to the post-race technical inspection where his car was disqualified for the width of the wheels being too wide. Lamoreaux was disqualified and the win was awarded to Fisher with Burns finishing second. The Burns run was impressive after his car had severe damage one week earlier after striking the homestretch wall. His crew did a great job repairing the ride, and he would go on to have a good night.

The RoC Street Stock 50 lap qualifier, which was held over from June 16th was on track next with Cricket Clonch and Gil Sharpsteen leading the field to green. Clonch took advantage of the inside line and pulled ahead of Gil Sharpsteen entering turn one. Jeff Goodwin, who started third, followed Clonch through on the inside, but he and Gil Sharpsteen got together entering turn two bringing out the first of three cautions. Caution quickly flew on lap one for the turn three spin of Brad Knapp. Lee Sharpsteen, starting sixth, took the lead on lap 17, and stayed out front the remainder of the race to collect his third consecutive win of the season, and with the win took home a set of tires courtesy of Hoosier Tire East. Cricket Clonch finished second, and was awarded the guaranteed starting spot in the Super Stock race at the 61st Race of Champions at the Oswego Speedway on July 23rd. Sharpsteen is already a guaranteed starter, so the spot was given to the next highest finisher. Fourteen of the seventeen Street Stocks who signed in on June 16th returned for the held over feature.

The regular program saw the Sportsman in the first feature. 2010 Rookie of the Year, Bryan Sherwood, started from the pole position with John Wilbur starting second. Wilbur took the lead from Sherwood on lap three. The lone caution of race was a spin by T-J Zacharias on lap 3. Jimmy Zacharias took the lead from Wilbur on lap 6 and had the car handling perfectly as he moved away to take home his second win of the season. Wilbur finished second and Tony Hanbury finished third.

The ASA Latemodel feature was the fourth feature of the evening with Brad Smales and Joe Brown pacing the field. Brown quickly took the lead going into turn one and began pulling away from the pack. The racing was hot and heavy behind Brown until the first caution flag flew on lap 12 for a spin in turn two by Joseph Burns. This caution began a string of cautions; the worst coming when Scott Nurmi went for an inside pass on Jerry Dineen entering turn 1. Nurmi ran out of racetrack, sending his ride into the Dineen number 11. Both went up the track making hard contact with the foam in turn 1. The contact brought put a red flag which lasted for 28 minutes. Both drivers exited the cars on their own, but tensions were high in the pits. Dineen's car was returned to the pits "cradled" by the wreckers. The final caution came on lap 24 of the scheduled 25 lap feature as two rivals got together. Jim Lamoreaux and Travis Fisher found each other on the track and got together when Lamoreaux went for an inside pass for position. Joe Brown outlasted all challengers on multiple restarts to lead all 25 laps and collected his first ever ASA Latemodel feature. Joseph Burns held on to finish second and Josh Lloyd was third. Brown was also awarded the guaranteed starting spot for the Race of Champions Latemodel race on Sunday July 24th at Oswego.

The 20 lap Street Stock feature completed the racing action as Charlie Lohmeyer and Charlie Sharpsteen led the field to the green flag. Lee Sharpsteen started sixth, and quickly worked his way forward. He found his older brother by lap seven. The pair exchanged the lead at the line on laps 9, 10, 11 and 12, each time taking the lead by an interval of less than 1 foot. Lee Sharpsteen would eventually pull away to remain undefeated in Street Stock feature action this season. Cricket Clonch worked his way forward from his fourth place starting position to collect his third consecutive second place finish. Charlie Sharpsteen had his best run of the year, finishing third. The race was slowed by one caution flag, occurring on lap 2. Mikayla Rypkema did not start the second feature of the night after motor problems in the first feature put an end to her night.

Majestic Fireworks put on a spectacular display in celebration of the July 4th holiday.

The Shangri-La II Kids Club Activity (making tissue paper sparklers) was sponsored by B.K. Nalepa.

Racing returns to the "Concrete Castle" this Saturday night as the Race of Champions Modifieds invade the "high banks" in their final tune-up before the Sunoco 200 at Oswego. The Modifieds will run a 75 lap feature and be joined on the card by the ASA Late Models, Sportsman, Street Stocks and the Speed STR's making their second and final appearance of the season.

Let's GO ASA Racing !!!

Redneck Barbequers Night

ASA Late Model
30 Laps
Postponed feature from 6/25/2011
(19 laps remaining) 

Street Stocks
50 Laps
Held over RoC Qualifier from 6/16/2011 

Jerry Dineen

Billy Coyle, Lee Sharpsteen

Feature: Feature:
1. 8 Travis Fischer

2. 53 Joseph Burns

3. 11 Jerry Dineen

4. 15 Joe Brown

5. 84 Josh Lloyd

6. 29 Dave Schneider

7. 52 Brad Smales

8. 20 Scott Nurmi

DQ : 37 Jim Lamoreaux
Failed Post Race Tech - Wheelbase too wide

1. 8 Lee Sharpsteen

2. 32 Cricket Clonch

3. 9 Charlie Sharpsteen

4. O5 Jeff Goodwin

5. 94 Billy Coyle

6. 5 Charlie Lohmeyer

7. 98 Chris Zacharias

8. 78F Robert Fink

9. 61 Matt Visingard

10. 7 Bob Ripley

11. 4 Mikayla Rypkema

12. 85 Glenn Lippolis

13. 67/8 Gil Sharpsteen

14. 26 Brad Knapp

DNS: 72 Terry Potrzebowski

DNS: 78 Terry Ostrander

DNS: 27 Dylan Terry


Sportsman Modifieds
12 laps
ASA Latemodels
25 laps

Jimmy Zacharias

Travis Fisher, Joseph Burns

1. 71 Jimmy Zacharias

2. 4 John Wilbur

3. 32 Tony Hanbury

4. 95 Bryan Sherwood

5. 17 T-J Zacharias

6. 77 Paul Johnson

7. 1 Corey Mosher

DNS: 68 Scott Adams

1. 15 Joe Brown
( 1st Career win at Shangri-La II)

2. 53 Joseph Burns

3. 84 Josh Lloyd

4. 37 Jim Lamoreaux

5. 26 Joe Schneider

6. 8 Travis Fisher

7. 29 Dave Schneider

8. 11 Jerry Dineen

9. 20 Scott Nurmi

10. 52 Brad Smales


Street Stock
20 Laps

Charlie Sharpsteen, Billy Coyle

1. 8 Lee Sharpsteen

2. 32 Cricket Clonch

3. 34 Charlie Sharpsteen

4. O5 Jeff Goodwin

5. 85 Glenn Lippolis

6. 5 Charlie Lohmeyer

7. 98 Chris Zacharias

8. 78F Robert Fink

9. 61 Matt Visingard

10. 26 Brad Knapp

11. 7 Bob Ripley

12. 9 Gil Sharpsteen

13. 94 Billy Coyle

DNS: 4 Mikayla Rypkema