Gill Sharpsteen is "The Spoiler"

spalding_foundationShangri-La II Motorspeedway Street Stock points leader, Lee Sharpsteen knew the other drivers in the class were out to break his undefeated streak, but he has been keeping a close eye on his older brother the past three races. His concerns were correctly placed as Gilbert Sharpsteen took the lead on lap ten and checked out for his first win of the season. ASA Late Model points leader, Joe Brown led wire to wire for his second win of the season. Matt Kurzejewski made his first Sportsman start at "The Concrete Castle" since July, 2009 pay off as he improved one spot from his previous finish and ended up in Victory Lane.

The skies were threatening on The Spalding Foundation for Injured Drivers night at the ASA Member facility last Saturday night, but Gil Sharpsteen was extremely focused. He and his McDonald Motorsports crew have been trying to get the set-up on his street stock to his liking. Lee knew that they had been working hard, but did not know just how close they had come to hitting on the combination Gil needed until the feature took the green flag. Billy Coyle paced the field during the first ten laps until his car developed enough of a push coming off turn four leaving the bottom lane open. That opened the door for Gil to make his move, completing the pass at the start/finish line. Gil started sixth with younger brother, Lee starting seventh. Both drivers were challenged as they worked toward the front, withstanding side by side action with Coyle, Cricket Clonch, Charlie Lohmeyer and Chris Zacharias. At the checkers, Gil took the win by ten car lengths over Lee in a caution free event. Coyle hung on for third. Clonch finished fourth and Charlie Lohmeyer completed the top five.

Paul Johnson and T-J Zacharias led the Sportsman field to Gary Folk, Jr's green flag. T-J swept around Johnson and took the lead in turn one. John Wilber started third in a ride provided by J.R. Kent. Wilber made contact with Johnson in turn 2, sending Johnson around. The spin collected Johnson, Tony Hanbury, Jimmy Zacharias and Jeff Frisbee, who was making his first start of the season at the high banked half mile. Zacharias was the only driver in that group who was able to continue. T-J Zacharias led the first 19 laps until Matt Kurzejewski made a low, inside pass on T-J coming off turn four. The two then had contact coming to the stripe, but both cars kept their momentum. Kurzejewski remained out front and became the hunted. Jimmy Zacharias got around his younger brother to chase Kurzejewski to the checkers. Kurzejewski collected his first ever Shangri-La II win. Jimmy Zacharias extended his points lead finishing second. T-J Zacharias was third with John Wilber and Tom Shiner completing the top five.Kurzejewski's only other feature at Shangri-La II was on July 19, 2009 when he finished second to Patti Pruitt.

Joe Brown is having the time of his life in the ASA Latemodel division. Comparing the 2011 season to his 2010 season is like comparing apples to oranges. The struggles he had in 2010 are all but a distant memory as he is competitive each and every time his number 15 hits the track. He showed he was the man to beat by winning his heat race, and then led all 25 laps in a caution-free feature for his second win of the season and extended his points lead. Brown held off 2009 champion, Jim Lamoreaux who finished second following a tough battle with Scott Nurmi.Nurmi finished third with Dave Schneider finishing fourth and Josh Lloyd finishing fifth. Brown is very soft spoken in victory lane, crediting the car and his crew for his success in 2011.
With NASCAR running the Nationwide and Sprint Cup races at Watkins Glen International, several Sprint Cup crewmen were at the track catching the action representing Germain Racing, Stewart-Haas Racing, Michael Waltrip Racing, Furniture Row Racing and Roush/Fenway Racing. Eight crewmen competed in an eight lap match race in Street Stocks. Ryan Bergenty, a mechanic on Regan Smith's #78 Furniture Row Chevrolet won the race driving Gil Sharpsteen's 6 7/8 car. For Bergenty, the race was his first time competing on pavement. He has previous racing experience racing on dirt tracks.


John Wilber drove the JR Kent Sportsman on Saturday night. Wilber is currently a close second in points to Jimmy Zacharias. The reason for driving the Kent #16 is Wilber sold both of his Sportsman earlier in the week to Terry Zacharias.
T-J Zacharias drove the #4 which Wilber had been driving in 2011. It is the same car Wilber bought from Zacharias racing at the end of 2010 which Jimmy Zacharias drove to the 2010 Sportsman title.
Tommy Zacharias returned to the track for the first time in 2011 driving the car Wilber drove in 2010. The number had been changed from #4 to #1.
Following problems in Hot Laps, Jimmy Zacharias drove the #17 Sportsman which has been driven by T-J Zacharias this season.
Joseph Burns entered the night second in ASA Late Model points, but his night ended following contact with Jim Lamoreaux during the heat race. The right front of the Burns car was damaged beyond what could be repaired at the track to be able to compete safely.

Next Saturday night, Shangri-La II presents Family Night which will feature a Bounce House, and a Penny Drop for the kids. Sharpsteen Racing along with S&M McDonald Motorsports will be giving away a Boys and Girls Bicycles.


The show will see the ASA Latemodels running a 30 lap feature, the Sportsman and Street Stocks running 25 lap events.
Pit Gates open at 4:30pm, Grandstand Gates open at 5:30 pm and practice begins at 6:00 pm. Racing gets the green flag at 7:00 pm.
Grandstand Admission is just $ 10.00 ( $ 8.00 with last race's wristband discount) with youths under the age of 16 admitted free.

ASA and Shangri-La II Motorspeedway...We Build Champions !!!



Spalding Foundation Night
ASA Latemodels
25 laps

25 laps

Joe Brown


Jimmy Zacharias, Tony Hanbury

1. 15 Joe Brown

2. 37 Jim Lamoreaux

3. 20 Scott Nurmi

4. 29 Dave Schneider

5. 84 Josh Lloyd

DNS: 53 Joseph Burns

1. 21 Matt Kurzejewski
(1st win at Shangri-La II)

2. 17 Jimmy Zacharias

3. 4 T-J Zacharias

4. 16 John Wilber

5. 35 Tom Shiner

6. 1 Tommy Zacharias

7. 77 Paul Johnson

8. 32 Tony Hanbury

9. 2 Jeff Frisbee

DNS: 95 Bryan Sherwood, 71 Rick Savage

Street Stocks
25 laps
Sprint Cup Crewman Race
8 laps

Chris Zacharias, Gil Sharpsteen


Jerry Dineen


1. 6 7/8 Gil Sharpsteen
(1st win of the season)

2. 8 Lee Sharpsteen

3. 94 Billy Coyle

4. 32 Cricket Clonch

5. 5 Charlie Lohmeyer

6. 98 Chris Zacharias

7. 61 Matt Visingard

8. 26 Brad Knapp

9. 34 Charlie Sharpsteen

10. 23 Dusty Snell

DQ: 71 John Whitmore
1. 6 7/8 Ryan Bergenty
(Mechanic for Regan Smith's #78 )

2. 32 Tyler Roach

3. 94 Scott Killbury

4. 61 Jeff Mendering

5. 98 Bryan Kincheloe

6.  8 Tony Jilson

7.  71 Ben Runge

DNS: 5 Greg Osborne