By Tom Cummings

Tioga Center, NY - The Best Western Grand Victorian Inn in Waverly, NY was the host for the 2013 Shangri-La II Motorspeedway Awards banquet on Saturday December 21, 2013. The top five Four Cylinder Stock drivers as well as the top ten in the Sportsman Modified and Pudgies Pizza Street Stock divisions were recognized as well as a host of other award recipients.

IMG 3445



The evening got underway with a buffet dinner prepared at the facility. The food was delicious as those in attendance got an early start on their Christmas feasting. Once the dinner had completed, the awards ceremony began. Four Cylinder Stock Champion, Gene Purvis was unable to attend the banquet, but was recognized for his accomplishment.

IMG 3446

IMG 3460

Sportsman Modified Champion, Tyler Rypkema and Pudgies Pizza Street Stock co-Champions Jeff Goodwin and Chris Zacharias were recognized with video presentations featuring each of their individual seasons. The Special Awards were presented as follows: Best Appearing Four Cylinder Stock and Four Cylinder Stock Rookie of the year - Nick Morich. Best Appearing Sportsman Modified – Jody Buckley. Sportsman Modified Rookie of the Year - Tommy Rought. Best Appearing Pudgies Pizza Street Stock – Jeff Goodwin. Pudgies Pizza Street Stock Rookie of the Year – Gary Noe. Most Improved Driver of the Year honors went to Bill Frisbee, Jr. Hank Buchanan was the Hard Luck Driver of the Year. Crew Chief of the Year Award went to Brian Nalepa. Pudgies Pizza was named Sponsor of the Year. The track’s Sportsman of the Year award has been re-named the Al Robinson Sportsman of the Year Award and was presented to Chris Zacharias by Al Robinson and Carol Houssock. Tyler Rypkema was named 2013 Shangri-La II Motorspeedway Driver of the Year. Jerry Sinsabaugh was recognized as the Employee of the Year, and then proceeded to hold his own “Roast” of many in attendance. The Outstanding Woman in Racing is an award which is presented at a number of levels of racing, from National series to local tracks. It was a long standing award at the original Shangri-La/Tioga/Tioga Motorsports Park track.

IMG 3475

The award was renamed and presented at Shangri-La II for the first time. The award is now known as The Shirley Zacharias Memorial award and is given to a woman recognizing her outstanding contributions to the sport. The inaugural winner of the award, presented by Shirley’s son, Chris was Carol Houssock. Entertainment following the awards was presented by Annex. The Drivers, Teams, Fans and Sponsors were thanked for their support in 2013.

The track announced that there will be weekly racing once again in 2014. The schedule is still being worked on, and will be announced in the near future. There are still several meetings which will be taking place following the New Years holiday to firm up commitments for 2014. Talks are being held with the Race of Champions Pavement Modified Series to continue their participation at the track in 2014. News will be announced as soon as it becomes available.

ASA and Shangri-La II Motorspeedway - We Build Champions !!!